1. You are currently not signed in. If you are already a registered user Please log in to get the full benefit from this site. If not, why not register and gain full access to our wonderful forums, view topics, make posts, and more! So if your not already a user, you can register by simply clicking the button to the right of this notice.

Dead Battery

Discussion in 'Mechanical' started by Eileen, Jan 13, 2016.

1. Eileen

Eileen Off Roader +

Ok, so I'm still very new to riding so please bare that in mind ... Basically I wasn't able to ride my bike for a month and today rode it for the third time, just the short journey (5/6 miles) to work... I stalled it a few times this morning and one of the times the dash said low battery but as I then rode for another 10 mins or so I figured it would be fine, then this evening I stalled it twice and the second time the engine wouldn't start again (but the lights and everything still worked) ... I was near home so pushed it the last bit home.

Should I have realised that would happen and rode it for longer before stopping this morning/eve? Not that I intended to stall but still...

My problem now is how do I charge it? My dad says he had a trickle charger, will that do the job or do I need to get something else??

2. BlackHornet

BlackHornet Look before you turn Staff Member Moderator +

As long as the battery hasn't gone completely flat the trickle charger will have it sorted.

To charge the battery while riding needs a decent run with decent revs, short commuting runs aren't great for that.

I will bet my R6 battery will be flat as not ridden that one for too long now.

Eileen likes this.
  3. Eileen

Eileen Off Roader +

Thanks ... I think it is totally dead now :(

I will see if his charger is any good otherwise I'll buy another!

I think I just need to get it running again then go for some longer rides:)

4. hoppielimp

hoppielimp Fair Weather Rider +