1. You are currently not signed in. If you are already a registered user Please log in to get the full benefit from this site. If not, why not register and gain full access to our wonderful forums, view topics, make posts, and more! So if your not already a user, you can register by simply clicking the button to the right of this notice.

Zx6r G1 Revving Issue

Discussion in 'Mechanical' started by yamster, Dec 30, 2014.

1. yamster

yamster 125 +

hi all hope you all had a good Christmas
    this could be a long one so be prepared!!!!!
    Ok was having trouble starting bike when it was cold ie pull choke on would idle for a couple of minutes then drop out would not start again with choke on however if no choke applied no revs bike started but then needed half choke to keep it running then jd have to wait a least 10 minutes to warm up or it would not idle properly once warmed up bike rode good but sometimes would cut out at a junction (not me stalling)
    now im no mechanic but have some knowledge of engines so im not afraid of having a go so after some advise ive taken upon myself to have a play now what Ive done is taken the carbs off and replaced the rubber inlets they seamed soft so thought there might be a small crack in didn't sovle problem so off they come again and was told could be float valve sticking so with manual in hand took apart number 2 was abit sticky others were ok took all out and soaked in carb cleaner for about 10 minutes put back together installed back on bike now Ive got a new problem started bike up idles at 1300rpm when i rev it the revs hang at whatever rev then drops if i turn the idle down to 900 still does it my first though the carbs are out of sync now Ive freed up sticky valve ive attached a carb sync and there fine so now admitting im getting out of my depth now so anybody got any ideas ive got the rest of the week to try and sort as need bike to get to work next week the bike revved fine before i took float valves out i always c