1. You are currently not signed in. If you are already a registered user Please log in to get the full benefit from this site. If not, why not register and gain full access to our wonderful forums, view topics, make posts, and more! So if your not already a user, you can register by simply clicking the button to the right of this notice.

Tips for changing pads

Discussion in 'Mechanical' started by jack_bm, Oct 28, 2012.

1. jack_bm

jack_bm Sport Tourer +

The time is getting closer for me to change my break pads over and i've never done them before but i'm pretty sure i've got everything i need

Brake pads
    Brake fluid
    and a tube thingy to drain some of the fluid out when i push the pistons back in.

I think i know what im doing ( dont worry i wont jump on it as soon as i've done it i'll walk it about making sure the breaks work ;) ) but has anyone got any tips to save me the pain of finding out the hard way?

Also probably going to change my spark plugs at some point and i dont know why i think this or where i read this but am i right in thinking that you have to put them in a certain distance or something like that or is it simply just replace them until they dont go in any further?

2. BlackHornet

BlackHornet Look before you turn Staff Member Moderator +

you shouldn't need to worry about changing the brake fluid when just doing the pads. If all the bolts undo easy it's a ten minute job, 3 hours if you let Skortchio do it but then it is an hour and 28 mins each way to his :D . If the bolts don't come undone easy then it's a pain :thumbsdown: but thats about as hard as it gets

3. jack_bm

jack_bm Sport Tourer +

oh.. thats :poop: i just wasted money then haha oh well good to have these things for when you need them i guess! i was under the impression that you had to drain some of the brake fluid out to then be able to push the piston back in otherwise they wont go in all the way?

4. BlackHornet